I Don’t Live There Anymore

I used to feel like tragedies were like some sort of highly contagious disease I’d contract if I were near them. The death of someone near me, cancer, or passing a memorial cross on the highway were some of the things that would scare me internally in a very unexplainable way. Everywhere I turned in some respects, I’d live in absolute fear that I or someone I loved would be tragedy or sickness’ next victim.What a debilitating way to live.

Being a minister’s wife for the past eleven years has pushed me to learn how to enter hard situations again. I’ve learned to love those in the midst of life’s trials and not run the other way. Sure, it’s still hard sometimes to feel the pain that comes along with being there for people in need. But, compassion comes from personal experience and Christ-like love.

I’ve allowed my own anxiety to carry me away in the past. Thinking crazy thoughts that could only be spoken by the mouth of hell. Fearful thoughts of things unthinkable, paralyzing me mentally and causing me to just shut down. That is what anxiety does. It sucks out every single ounce of strength you have left until you have no more fight within.

Exactly what the enemy wants.

In my own personal experience, I came to a point where I couldn’t even bear the thought of singing, praying, or even listening to music. All of these things I love. It didn’t make any sense. All I knew is I didn’t have the strength or motive to do any of it.

I realize now that was the enemy trying to silence me. “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” John 10:10 KJV

You have to recognize that if satan can silence you, hes won half the battle. If you don’t speak about Jesus, if you don’t proclaim His word, or sing His praises you cannot and will not come to victory over your situation! God gave you your mouth to use for His glory alone. Our world is full of such filth because people knowingly or unknowingly allow satan to use them as mouthpieces.

Anxiety and fear cause you to construct mental walls to block out everything that could cause potential upset. You can’t see the light of Jesus when you are living in this house. The walls of this house are thick and there are no windows or doors. It’s built only for the one in it. You can let no one in or out. The only way out is by the saving grace of Jesus Christ who can drop in, pick you up and pull you out.

Jesus pulled me out when I found my voice again. I proclaimed the words “I don’t live here anymore!”, and by His saving power I made my out of that pit of destruction and hell.

You can too. You don’t have to live in the house of anxiety or fear. Your realization of truth is key to your escape. Don’t be en-captured by those walls, but be set free in knowing who Jesus made you to be. You don’t live there anymore! You are made to be free and victorious. You are made to share this love Jesus shared with you.

 

Leave a Reply

