Weeping and Walking

Recently I read an article by John Piper that changed my view on dealing with loss and weeping.

One statement that is highlighted on my heart is, “Tears, I feel you. You make me want to quit life. But there is a field to be sown (dishes to be washed, car to be fixed, sermon to be written). I know you will wet my face several times today, but I have work to do and you will just have to go with me. I intend to take the bag of seeds and sow. If you come along then you will just have to wet the rows.” -John Piper.

You see, in this life, we all have seasons of weeping, loss, and even anxiety. Most of the time we know why and other times we may not even know. We are spiritual beings and sometimes the tears come for spiritual reasons.

The holidays seem to bring a more intense season of piercing pain especially if you are dealing with loss. Loosing my Daddy has had a huge impact on my last three Christmases. I’ve had to fight back the burning tears many times because of the aching loss I feel. I’m not sure why I feel it more deeply sometimes than I do others, but, I’m not ashamed of it. What do I mean?

The reason I feel such a piercing and aching pain due to the loss of my Daddy is because I loved him so much. There is no shame in love for that is the reason Jesus came to die for us. Without His love, we wouldn’t even be here because we would be on our way to hell. His love was so selfless that He was willing to give up His life in place of ours.

Love in it’s true form is not self-seeking, not mean, cruel or abusive. Instead it is self-less, beautiful, and always looking for ways to show others you care.

As I get older and further along in my walk with Jesus, I realize more every minute that we have to lean on HIM alone for strength and hope to keep going on our journey. “Cast thy burden upon the LORD, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved.” Psalm 55:22

Loss tends to make us want to “throw in the towel” on life sometimes. Grief is a long-drawn out and grueling process to which we sometimes feel we have to drag ourselves through. All the while life goes on around us and is not forgiving in the least bit. Life screams, “move on!” in it’s demanding and cruel tone. Moving on is what we should do,  but we must process the loss we are struggling to carry in the right way. We can’t just drop it and expect it to go away. We have to deal with those feelings, process every emotion and release what we feel to the Lord.

Regardless of what type of loss, agony, or grief you may be dealing with this Christmas season I pray you find comfort and hope in releasing everything you carry to Jesus.

Sometimes your hope can reappear while venting to a friend you confide in. Sometimes it comes in the form of just walking on even with tears stinging your eyes. Whatever way you walk through your struggle, make sure you walk it holding the hand of Jesus, not only during the hard days but during the good ones as well. He is always right by your side and He will always see you through any struggle you are facing. If you have to walk as you weep, do it with Jesus hand in hand. He will keep you going if you only ask Him to.

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/talking-to-your-tears

Leave a Reply

