Stop Fearing His Plan!

 

We all know life twists and turns with unexpected events on an almost constant basis. My ability to want to schedule everything plus unpredictable life events are certainly an equation for disaster in my mind.

I’m here to confess my unrelenting ability to be a control freak.

Being organized and perfectionist is a beautiful quality sometimes. But, I will say it has become a huge hang up for me to know every miniscule detail of everything. It is exhausting! I know some of you can note that similarity in yourself.

Even so, it can be a weakness of great proportion when it comes to God’s will. There have been so many times in the ministry that God has compelled us to go somewhere or do something that didn’t make any earthly sense. Not to mention that we did not know the details of why we were going to that place until after we got there. That used to set me into a tale spin. If God wanted my beloved husband and I to do something couldn’t He at least show me a bullet pointed blue print of it all?

Let me first say that I’m not against being prepared as much as possible. The Bible says in, Colossians 3:23 – “And whatsoever ye do, do [it] heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men.” Being organized is certainly good,  but when I see people doing what I used to do I want to save them the “hair-pulling out”. It is such a frustrating way to live when you put God in a box. In this way, you tie His hands because you fear allowing the spirit man in you to soar with Jesus! God forbid that something He does is not on our schedule. Or it doesn’t fit because God is asking us to do some really unfair and selfless act; for instance move to Africa and teach sweet babies about the love Jesus has for them. God forbid.

I can’t recall much of anything I read in the Bible being planned by people. One story that comes to mind is when God told Abraham to leave everything he knew and go…

Go where?

Abraham didn’t know, but, He obeyed God anyways. I’m sure his family may have given him a hard way to go. I’m certain He may have felt an emotional tug. Or maybe He was even doubting within himself, but what is most important is that He obeyed God despite it all. He looked into the face of fear itself, pushed it aside and walked in obedience. If we live in fear we will never be able to obey God properly. But, God is there to remove all of that mess.

Many websites say, “fear not” is in the Bible 365 times. I’ve heard it said, “That is 365 fear-nots for every day of the year.” I’m sure many of you have also heard that cliché of a phrase. Here are a few of my favorite scriptures regarding fear.

1 John 4:18 – “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.”

Hebrews 2:14 – “Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil.”

I’ve always loved the first verse because it speaks volumes to my trembling heart when I need it.

Fear starts with one thought that you allow to take root and start growing inside of you. It might start from something so silly and minuscule that you wouldn’t even think that fear could come out of it. But, it does and when it does, the effects can be crippling in your walk with the Lord.

I’m not just talking about seeing haunting figures in your room at night. I will expound to say that fear can literally control every move you make in life. When fear takes root, in it’s later stage it will cause a sense of paralyzation that you cannot get a hold of. It comes to steal from you. It comes as the thief of all thieves poised to drive you mad.

The Bible says that, “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” Fear can open the door to many other issues.

We cannot operate in fear when we are striving to do God’s will. It will not work. Period. In our walk with Jesus, fear can be more than a stumbling block. The steering wheel of your life can become fear if you allow it. Fear will then be the root everything in your life flows from. That’s exactly what the devil wants. You partner your mind with him, willing or unwillingly and he has won you over. You are so paralyzed in fear itself that your voice and your destiny are shut up. Do not allow this to happen. God put something deep inside you that is screaming to get out. Jeremiah said it this way, “His word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones.”

Allow that fire to spread to those around you today according to God’s plan for you. Do not let your mouth be covered by the hand of fear any longer. Don’t let your feet be sunken in the quick sands of doubt and fear. There is a world waiting to hear from you. They are clinging to you because they see something in you they want. They want Jesus, because His love in you is drawing them. Stop fearing God’s plan for your life and hearken to His voice. Listen, He is calling you to be His flaming fire spread to those around you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

