My Journey toward Peace

I’ve been on a journey, a journey of spiritual sorts. It’s been a long, grueling path at times and I’m still on it. My goal has been to find purpose in the midst of where I am in life.

The great Apostle Paul says it this way in Philippians 4:11 “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Now, my sometimes too-analytical mind has to question exactly where is Paul coming from here. I want to make it personal and detailed, and don’t we all? Is he lacking peace, is he depressed or being persecuted at this snapshot in his life? Is he I need of clothing or food? Has he just witnessed a fellow friend be slaughtered for the belief in Jesus Christ they hold so sacred? There’s no way to know for pure certainty. But, I do know this statement of Paul’s is meant to bring us solace even in our darkest valley of life.

I’m learning, and would have to say that all of us are still learning to find that peace in daily life no matter the situation we are in. At times I wonder within myself, if my life circumstances were to improve in certain areas would I be a happier and more successful person? Would I believe in myself enough to pursue a dream that’s been beckoning me for a long time? Is there something or perhaps someone blocking me from finding that peace and God-ordained purpose? Perhaps, the person is me. We all are our worst enemy they say…

Ever since the beginning of time with the fall of Adam we have tried so selfishly make our own path. We think we have our own best interest at heart and disregard that the very One that created us desires that we seek His guidance. Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Peaceful and purposeful life demands constant doses of God’s word. Some would say The Holy Bible is a dead book and has no meaning for us in the current world. I am among those who dare to believe that it’s a love letter breathed passionately and directly from the Creator of the universe to His created. Creator and Father God longs deeply to connect with us all, in fact, He is grieved by those who reject Him. Purpose and peace can be found in no other source but, through Him. Let us always strive for His direction in all areas of life so that we can please Him and find our true peace and purpose.

Leave a Reply

